Biju Swasthya Kalyan Yojana to Roll Out from 15th August in Odisha

August 9, 2018 | By Lekhraj | Filed in: News, Odisha Government Schemes, Sarkari Yojana 2019-20.

The State Health Department of Odisha is going to roll out Biju Swasthya Kalyan Yojana from 15th August 2018. Letters from Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik containing details of the Biju Swasthya Kalyan Yojana will reach the doorsteps of at least 70 lakh families covering nearly 3.5 crore people across the state within seven days from the roll out date.  The Commissioner-cum-Secretary, Health and Family Welfare, Pramod Meherda, has asked all district collectors to ensure that the letter should reach all beneficiaries.

The district administrations have been entrusted with the task of distributing the letters within a period of seven days from August 15. The letter will mention the salient features of the scheme and also the fact that the recipients have been selected as a beneficiary of the scheme under which health care worth up to Rs 5 lakh will be provided by the government to each poor family of the state every year.

Biju Swasthya Kalyan Yojana 2018

The Block Development Officers (BDOs) will distribute the letters to the beneficiaries through village agriculture workers, Gram Rozgar Sathis, Anganwadi workers, Asha workers, revenue inspectors and village level workers.The scheme had hit the headlines as it will be running in parallel with the Union government’s Ayushman Bharat Yojana.

  • More than 44.08 lakh beneficiaries of Rashtriya Swasthya Bima Yojana and 25.61 lakh beneficiaries were being given health insurance under the Biju Krushak Kalyan Yojana.
  • Both the schemes have been merged and now 69.69 lakh beneficiaries will be brought under the new Biju Swasthya Kalyan Yojana.
  • Committees will be formed right from district to block level to monitor distribution of letters among the beneficiaries of the new scheme.
District collectors will head the district-level committees which will have an executive officer or commissioner of the local urban body, chief district medical officer, district agriculture officer, district social welfare officer and project director of the district rural development agency as members.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Content